jump to navigation

I Prayed and Nothing Happened December 12, 2009

Posted by Carole Lynne in Carole Lynne reads Sri Aurobindo and the Mother, Spiritual Awakening, Spiritual Education, Spiritual Priority, Sri Aurobindo and the Mother.
trackback

I love to visit the website www.sriaurobindosociety.org.in         For guidance, there is a link on the home page.  Click on this link and you will come to the guidance page, where you can ask a question in your mind, and then click for an answer.  The answers that come to me are always so relevant. 

This morning when I went to the site I asked, “What quote do I need to share with readers of my blog,”  and this quote by the Mother, one of the founders of the Sri Aurobindo Ashram, came up:

“Aspiration in everyone, no matter who it is, has the same power. But the effect of this aspiration is different. For aspiration is aspiration: if you have aspiration, in itself it has a power. Only, this aspiration calls down an answer, and this answer, the effect, which is the result of the aspiration, depends upon each one, for it depends upon his receptivity. I know many people of this kind: they say, “Oh! but I aspire all the time and still I receive nothing.” It is impossible that they should receive nothing, in the sense that the answer is sure to come. But it is they who do not receive. The answer comes but they are not receptive, so they receive nothing.. . .
 

When you have an aspiration, a very active aspiration, your aspiration is going to do its work. It is going to call down the answer to what you aspire for. But if, later, you begin to think of something else or are not attentive or receptive, you do not even notice that your aspiration has received an answer. This happens very frequently. So people tell you: “I aspire and I don’t receive anything, I get no answer!” Yes, you do have an answer but you are not aware of it, because you continue to be active in this way, like a mill turning all the time.”

– The Mother [CWMCE, 6:115]
  
 As I read these words, I am reminded to listen for guidance.  Just praying and asking for help does no good, if I do not do my part, by listening for guidance from the Divine. Each day I am learning to trust my inner guidance.
Psychic Medium and Inspirational Author Carole Lynne
www.carolelynne.com
www.carolelynnecosmicconnection.com
www.sriaurobindosociety.org.in
 
  
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

