jump to navigation

Taming the Ego October 27, 2009

Posted by Carole Lynne in All About Spirit, Spiritual Awakening, Spiritual Priority, spirituality in action.
Tags: ,
trackback

In spiritual circles we hear alot about the need to “tame” the ego if we are to proceed along to spiritual path and evolve into better human beings.   And while we read and talk about the ego a great deal, it is a real challenge to reign in the ego so that it behaves and we can receive its benefits without it destroying our spiritual consciousness.

Of course we need the ego in our daily lives or we might not get anything done.  The ego helps us to strive for the accomplishments that are important in our lives: we become educated, we take part in athletics, we learn to play musical instruments and take part in all kinds of beneficial activities because it satisfies the ego.

But hopefully there comes a point on the spiritual path, where we are doing things not so much for the personal satisfaction received, but because the part of each one of us that is a spark of Divinity, knows that the actions taken will benefit humankind.

While the above words flow easily, they are not at all easy to live up to.  It is a lifetime challenge to walk the spiritual path.

Following is an excerpt from Cosmic Connection: Messages for a Better World.  These words came to me inspirationally and help me on my path:

As I open up to wider states of consciousness and remember that I am a spark of the Essence of Divine Consciousness, I know we are all One.  Knowing that I am part of One, I will live my life differently than before and in doing so serve as a model or teacher for others.  Of course I cannot control the actions of another individual and on an individual level I am not responsible for the lives of other individuals. But on a deeper level, that realm in which we are all One, I am doing my part by changing my values. As I change my values I am more loving to myself and to the world.

Allow me to repeat that these words are not easy to live up to, but can serve as a goal to work towards.

Psychic Medium and Inspirational Author Carole Lynne

Author of Cosmic Connection: Messages for a Better World, Consult Your Inner Psychic: Make Your Life Work Better, How to Get a Good Reading From a Psychic Medium and Heart and Sound.

 www.carolelynne.com

www.carolelynnecosmicconnection.com

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

