jump to navigation

Happy Smiles from Challenged Woman at the Gym April 7, 2009

Posted by Carole Lynne in Feeling Better.
trackback

I feel sorry for myself sometimes. When I arrive at the Boston Sports Club in Newton, I am mentally beating up on myself because I am not in as good shape as I would like to be.  Somehow I am never enough: not strong enough, not thin enough, not pretty enough. It goes on and on like a negative commercial playing in my mind.

Today when I was mentally beating up on myself, I  glanced around the gym floor and saw a woman who can barely walk, limping out to the center of the exercise room.  I noticed that when I had seen her several months ago, she was using a cane, but now she was not.  As she walked slowly, oh so slowly, it was a victory for her and she had a huge smile on her face. She made her way over to the free weights and began to work out with some of the lighter weights.

Her smile spread from one end of the exercise floor to the other, and when the energy infused with the radiance of her smile reached me, I began to feel different.  I began to smile and that negative critical tape faded from my mind and instead the beautiful music of gratitude began to play instead.  They lyrics were “I am grateful to be alive, I am grateful to be walking, I am grateful to be able to workout in this gym. I am grateful for life.”

I thank that beautiful woman for changing my morning.

Psychic Medium Carole Lynne   Author of a new book Cosmic Connection: Messages for a Better World

www.carolelynne.com

www.carolelynnecosmicconnection.com

Comments»

1. MaryLee Trettenero - April 9, 2009

Hi Carole Lynne, I am struggling myself to get into the gym. I was hoping that just snacking on Goji berries would get me back into good shape but alas, I guess I need to workout. Last month, I was in Detroit where my sister owns three health clubs. I taught two classes on Intuition and Weight Loss and gave readings. In one of the clubs a woman named Cathy had just received the “Member of the month” award for her positive attitude. Cathy had suffered a stroke at 53 and started coming in after her insurance money ran out and she couldn’t afford physical therapy. I gave her a reading and I could see that her brain was not processing optimally. She used many wrong words and you could see she was frustrated that her speech was impaired. What an inspiration she was to other members. In the beginning, Cathy could barely get on a machine without someone there every second. When I met her she moved through the machines on her own with such grace. I tried to imagine myself in her condition. It really is refreshing to see someone taking on life’s challenges with such courage and strength. Cathy didn’t seem to think she was doing anything particularly special. She gave us all a gift by not staying at home and hiding her condition. Very moving.

2. Carole Lynne - April 9, 2009

Dear MaryLee,

Thanks for sharing your experience at the gym. Your story about Cathy is a great example of how we call all help each other if we do not hide our problems and our disabilities. That is not to say that we all need to complain all the time. But as we share our struggles with physical and mental challenges, we all inspire each other.

Carole Lynne


Leave a Reply

